AOA Communication  |   February 2013
JAOA Peer Reviewers, 2012
Article Information
AOA Communication   |   February 2013
JAOA Peer Reviewers, 2012
The Journal of the American Osteopathic Association, February 2013, Vol. 113, 130-132. doi:
The Journal of the American Osteopathic Association, February 2013, Vol. 113, 130-132. doi:
The consultants in the following list reviewed manuscripts submitted for publication in The Journal of the American Osteopathic Association (JAOA) during the previous calendar year. As noted, the names of reviewers who have joined The Journal's peer reviewer roster since the JAOA first started tracking reviewers in 2003 are indicated with an asterisk (*). 
The JAOA's editor in chief, associate editors, and staff acknowledge and thank the following experts for their dedication to the osteopathic medical profession as evidenced through their efforts to ensure the scientific validity and clinical usefulness of the JAOA, the premier scholarly publication of the osteopathic medical profession. 
Physicians, faculty members, and others within the health care professions who are interested in reviewing manuscripts for the JAOA are encouraged to visit for more information. 
Davin A. Agustines, DO* Encino, California 
F. James Anderson, DO* Columbus, Georgia 
Helen H. Baker, PhD, MBA Lewisburg, West Virginia 
H. Brent Bamberger, DO* Dayton, Ohio 
David A. Baron, DO, MSEd Los Angeles, California 
Murray R. Berkowitz, DO, MPH Lawrenceville, Georgia 
David M. Biondi, DO Princeton, New Jersey 
Per Gunnar Brolinson, DO Blacksburg, Virginia 
William Brooks, DO Kansas City, Missouri 
Boyd R. Buser, DO* Pikeville, Kentucky 
Eugene H. Carbaugh, BS* Richland, Washington 
Jane E. Carreiro, DO Biddeford, Maine 
Ralph G. Cataldo, DO* Cherry Hill, New Jersey 
Thomas A. Cavalieri, DO Stratford, New Jersey 
Millicent King Channell, DO Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 
Craig D. Chappell, DO* Athens, Ohio 
Anthony G. Chila, DO Athens, Ohio 
Robert J. Chilton, DO San Antonio, Texas 
David Chim, DO San Marino, California 
C. Norman Coleman, MD* Bethseda, Maryland 
Michael K. Cope, PhD Lewisburg, West Virginia 
Gary E. Cordingley, MD, PhD* Athens, Ohio 
William Thomas Crow, DO Orlando, Florida 
Bethany Cummings, DO* Winchester, Virginia 
Tyler C. Cymet, DO Chevy Chase, Maryland 
Gilbert E. D'Alonzo Jr, DO, MS Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 
Jay B. Danto, DO* Lebanon, Oregon 
Hilda M. DeGaetano, DO Weston, Florida 
Brian F. Degenhardt, DO Kirksville, Missouri 
Dennis J. Dowling, DO, MA Syosset, New York 
David C. Eland, DO Athens, Ohio 
J. Michael Finley, DO Pomona, California 
Michael E. Fitzgerald, BA* Chicago, Illinois 
Marcel P. Fraix, DO Pomona, California 
Jeffrey S. Freeman, DO Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 
Katherine E. Galluzzi, DO Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 
Norman Gevitz, PhD Old Westbury, New York 
Adam C. Gilliss, DO* Merchantville, New Jersey 
Edward K. Goering, DO* Beavercreek, Oregon 
Jason M. Golbin, DO, MS Syosset, New York 
Frederick J. Goldstein, PhD Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 
Cheryl Gross, CAE* Chicago, Illinois 
Brian H. Hallas, PhD Old Westbury, New York 
Janet Hamstra, PhD, EdD Fort Lauderdale, Florida 
Kendi Lee Hensel, DO Fort Worth, Texas 
Lisa M. Hodge, PhD* Fort Worth, Texas 
Carl Hoegerl, DO, MSc Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania 
John N. Howell, PhD Athens, Ohio 
Raymond J. Hruby, DO Pomona, California 
Frederick J. Humphrey II, DO Royal Oak, Maryland 
Eric Hurwitz, PhD* Honolulu, Hawaii 
John A. Jerome, PhD Bath, Michigan 
Jane C. Johnson, MA Kirksville, Missouri 
Robert S. Juhasz, DO* Willoughby Hills, Ohio 
Scott Kaatz, DO, MSc Detroit, Michigan 
Robert E. Kappler, DO Downers Grove, Illinois 
Brian M. Kelly, DO* Ann Arbor, Michigan 
Hollis H. King, DO, PhD Madison, Wisconsin 
Michael L. Kuchera, DO* Merion Station, Pennsylvania 
R. Gregory Lande, DO Silver Spring, Maryland 
Lawrence R. LeBeau, DO Gilbert, Arizona 
Frederick T. Lewis, DO Weston, Florida 
Joy Helene Lewis, DO, PhD Wilson, Wyoming 
John C. Licciardone, DO, MBA Fort Worth, Texas 
Jay M. Lonsway, DO Marshall, Michigan 
CAPT Paul A. Lucha Jr, DO Salisbury, North Carolina 
James Maciejko, PhD Royal Oak, Michigan 
Jed G. Magen, DO East Lansing, Michigan 
Ronald V. Marino, DO, MPH Mineola, New York 
James T. Martin, PhD* Pomona, California 
David C. Mason, DO Aledo, Texas 
John M. McPartland, DO Middlebury, Vermont 
Creagh E. Milford Jr, DO* Boston, Massachusetts 
Michael Gerard Moncman, DO* Grove City, Ohio 
William F. Morris, DO* Buies Creek, North Carolina 
James F. Murray II, DO* Ranson, West Virginia 
Karen J. Nichols, DO, MA Oak Brook, Illinois 
Donald Robert Noll, DO Marlton, New Jersey 
Francis J. O'Donnell III, DO* Westerville, Ohio 
Michael J. Olek, DO Newport Beach, California 
Kevin Olson, DO, PhD* Columbus, Ohio 
Gerald G. Osborn, DO, MPhil* Harrogate, Tennessee 
Albert H. O-Yurvati, DO Fort Worth, Texas 
Michael M. Patterson, PhD Plantation, Florida 
Rita M. Patterson, PhD* Fort Worth, Texas 
Felix J. Rogers, DO Trenton, Michigan 
Marc S. Rosenthal, DO* Detroit, Michigan 
Paul C. Rossi, DO Cherry Hill, New Jersey 
Bernard R. Rubin, DO, MPH Detroit, Michigan 
James A. Schoen, DO* Dayton, Ohio 
Richard A. Scott, DO* Cross Village, Michigan 
Michael A. Seffinger, DO Pomona, California 
Shinil K. Shah, DO* Houston, Texas 
Stephen C. Shannon, DO, MPH Chevy Chase, Maryland 
Dane J. Shepherd, DO* Chicago, Illinois 
Jay H. Shubrook Jr, DO Athens, Ohio 
Anthony J. Silvagni, DO, PharmD* Fort Lauderdale, Florida 
Gary J. Silverman, DO Scottsdale, Arizona 
Gilbert Siu, DO, PhD* Blackwood, New Jersey 
Leonid Skorin Jr, DO, OD Albert Lea, Minnesota 
David L. Smull, DO Winston Salem, North Carolina 
Karen T. Snider, DO* Kirksville, Missouri 
Paul R. Standley, PhD Phoenix, Arizona 
Jim R. Sylvain, DO* Lansing, Michigan 
Kenneth J. Tobin, DO Commerce Township, Michigan 
Lex C. Towns, PhD Yakima, Washington 
John J. Triano, DC, PhD* Toronto, Ontario, Canada 
Sandra Kay Willsie, DO Shawnee Mission, Kansas 
Patrick J. Woodman, DO Indianapolis, Indiana 
William F. Wright, DO, MPH Baltimore, Maryland 

The JAOA is proud to recognize those dedicated professionals who, as of December 31, 2012, have served as JAOA peer reviewers for 5 consecutive years or more. Thank you to the following individuals who are helping move the JAOA from “good to great”:


Helen H. Baker, PhD, MBA


David A. Baron, DO, MSED


Thomas A. Cavalieri, DO


Tyler C. Cymet, DO


Dennis J. Dowling, DO, MA


Jeffrey S. Freeman, DO


Frederick J. Goldstein, PhD


Raymond J. Hruby, DO


Hollis H. King, DO, PhD


R. Gregory Lande, DO


Ronald V. Marino, DO, MPH


Michael A. Seffinger, DO


Stephen C. Shannon, DO, MPH

  *  Indicates new peer reviewer in 2012.